Design News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

UBM Announces 2016 ACE Award Winners

ACE awards, Annual Creativity in Electronics, EDN, EETimes, UBM, BIOMEDevice, ESC, Embedded Systems Conference
The best and brightest were on display last night as UBM announced the 2016 Annual Creativity in Electronics (ACE) Awards winners during a ceremony held in conjunction with ESC Silicon Valley and BIOMEDevice San Jose.

The awards, presented in partnership with EETimes and EDN, showcase the best in today’s electronics industry, including the hottest new products, start-ups, design teams, executives, and more.

"We’re excited to honor this robust group for their dedication to their craft and efforts in bettering the industry for years to come" said Nina Brown, VP Events, UBM Americas. "The judging panel was given the difficult task of selecting winners from an incredibly talented group of finalists and we’d like to thank all of those participants for their amazing work and also honor their achievements. These awards aim to shine a light on the best in today’s electronics realm and this group is the perfect example of excellence within both an important and complex industry."

The winners are:

Company of the Year: Advanced Micro Devices

Executive of the Year: Steve Sanghi -- Microchip Technology Inc.

Design Team of the Year: Palladium Z1 Enterprise Emulation Platform Design Team -- Cadence Design Systems Inc.

Innovator of the Year: Bobby Littrell -- Vesper

Marketing Team of the Year: Big Ass Marketing Team -- Big Ass Solutions

Internet of Things Product of the Year: Battery Powered Mobile IoT Nursing Workstation -- Onyx Healthcare USA Inc.

Start-Up of the Year: SiFive Inc.

Analog ICs: AD9371 – Analog Devices Inc.

Development Kits: TI DLP NIRscan Nano Evaluation Module (EVM) -- Texas Instruments

LEDs and Lighting: ICL8105 -- Infineon Technologies

Logic/Interface/Memory: Samsung PM1633a Solid State Drive -- Samsung Semiconductor Inc.

Passives, Interconnects, and Electromechanical: Precise 800 -- Orbotech

Power: 48V Direct to POL Datacenter -- Vicor 

Processors (FPGAs, MCUs, Microprocessors): Stratix 10 MX SiP -- Intel Corp.

Reference Designs: MAXREFDES82# Smart Force Sensor Reference Design -- Maxim Integrated

Sensors: VM1000 -- Vesper

Software: Ultrahaptics Software Development Kit Version 2 -- Ultrahaptics North America Inc.

Test and Measurement Systems and Boards: Keithley DMM7510 -- Tektronix

Wireless/RF: WiPry 5x -- Oscium

Click here to learn more about the ACE Awards.

Last night, UBM also honored joint ACE Lifetime Achievement Award recipients Dave Patterson and John Hennessey, co-writers of the seminal text in RISC processor architectures; as well as 2016 ESC Silicon Valley keynote speaker, physicist, engineer, and author Ransom Stephens with the 2016 Jim Williams Contributor of the Year ACE Award, sponsored by Linear Technology.

Congratulations to all of this year's winners and finalists!

Follow the ACE Awards on Twitter at #ACEawards

Follow @ESC_Conf on Twitter for the latest on the Embedded Systems Conference

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.