Design News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

DesignCon 2021 Engineer of the Year Nominations Now Open

P1_8538_DC21_Logo Design_2021_Engineer_of_the_Year_DC21_EOY_vertical (002).png
Do you know an engineer who goes above and beyond in the advancement of their field? Nominate him or her for the DesignCon 2021 “Engineer of the Year” Award.

LATEST UPDATENominations for DesignCon’s 2021 Engineer of the Year Close Friday, May 14

Do you know an engineer who goes above and beyond in the advancement of their field? Nominate him or her for the DesignCon 2021 “Engineer of the Year” Award.

Each year, DesignCon recognizes excellence in hardware design engineering with the Engineer of the Year Award. Engineers have been particularly challenged in the past year, and now more than ever, amazing engineers have stepped forward to meet those challenges head-on. Please help DesignCon recognize these engineers by nominating them for the award:

This year, the DesignCon expo and conference will be at the San Jose McEnery Convention Center, in San Jose, CA, August 16-18. The engineering community will have the opportunity to vote for the award winner from a panel of finalists prior to the event. Then, at the conference, the 2021 Engineer of the Year Award and 2020 Best Paper Awards will be presented to the winners in the keynote hall immediately prior to the keynote on Tuesday, August 17.

Learn more about the award and see prior winners at


It is time again to consider who you think is an engineer who goes above and beyond in the advancement of their field – we want to recognize their achievements as a nominee for the DesignCon Engineer of the Year Award.

Each year during DesignCon, we recognize an engineer who is deemed by their peers to be the best of the best in engineering and new product advancements at the chip, board, or system level. The winner will be selected based on leadership, creativity, and out-of-the-box thinking brought to the design/test of chips, boards, or systems, with particular attention paid to areas of signal and power integrity. 

At the last physical DesignCon, we were very pleased to announce Istvan Novak as the Engineer of the Year. Among many other achievements, he was recognized for single-handedly helping the test and measurement industry develop completely new instruments and methods of measurement. Other past award winners have been Vishram Pandit in 2019, Mike Li in 2018, Heidi Barnes in 2017, and Eric Bogatin in 2016.

Nominations are open from now until Monday, January 11, 2021. To be considered for this award, nominees must be active members of the DesignCon community and cannot be employed by the same company as the winner from the previous year.

Members of the Informa DesignCon team will choose finalists from the nominees, and then the DesignCon and Design News communities will have the opportunity to vote for who will receive the 2021 Award. Watch for the announcement of the finalists and voting.

The winner of DesignCon’s Engineer of the Year Award will be provided with a $1,000 grant or scholarship to present to the educational institution of his or her choice.

You may nominate multiple people for the award, but please only nominate each person once. Multiple people nominating the same engineer is encouraged. Feel free to nominate yourself or another engineer.

Click here to go to the Nomination Form. Click here to see the Official Rules and Regulations of the Award.

Learn more about DesignCon and register for the event.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.