Leading Companies, Design Teams, Executives Among Finalists in 2017 ACE Awards

Winners will be announced during Embedded Systems Conference Silicon Valley in December.

A panel of top industry experts has spoken – the full list of finalists in the Annual Creativity in Electronics (ACE) Awards has been chosen. Who will take the top prizes during a live ceremony at Embedded Systems Conference Silicon (ESC) Valley, Dec. 5-7, 2017?

“The ACE Awards bring together top talent in the industry to celebrate innovations, recognize forward-looking companies, and inspire a larger discourse among leaders in the field,” said Suzanne Deffree, content director for ESC and Editor of Design News. “These finalists are a testament to the incredible strides the electronics industry has made this year. The high caliber of submissions we received presented a unique challenge to our judges, and every one of our finalists should be immensely proud of the work they’ve accomplished that led to their selection.”

The ACE Awards will be presented during a live ceremony, Dec. 6, 2017, in conjunction with ESC Silicon Valley.

The 2017 ACE Awards categories and finalists include:

Tomorrow’s Reality

  • iMedrix - iMedrix KardioScreen
  • Texas Instruments - mmwave
  • Imagine Research and Technology Inc. - Quantum Pooling
  • Bedrock Automation - Bedrock Open Secure Automation System with Cybershield 2.0

Company of the Year

  • Microchip Technology Inc.
  • Achronix Semiconductor Corp.
  • OSRAM Opto Semiconductors

Executive of the Year

  • SiFive - Jack Kang
  • Quantenna - Sam Heidari
  • Advanced Micro Devices - Mark Papermaster

Design Team of the Year

  • NEO Tech - NEO Tech Design Services
  • SiFive - HiFive1
  • Cadence Design Systems Inc. - Protium S1 FPGA-Based Prototyping Platform
  • Maxim Integrated - MAX17222 nanoPower Boost Converter Design Team

Internet of Things Product of the Year

  • Analog Devices - SmartMesh IP with Virtual Manager
  • RRD - CustomSense IOT Sensor Solutions
  • Wind River - Wind River Titanium Control

Analog ICs

  • Analog Devices - LTC2947
  • SiTime - Elite Platform Super-TCXO
  • Maxim Integrated - ModelGauge™ m5 Battery Fuel Gauge Portfolio
  • Analog Devices - AD9208 High-Speed A/D Converter


  • Marvell Technology Group - 88W8987xA Automotive Wireless Combo SoC
  • OSRAM Opto Semiconductors - Four-Channel LIDAR Laser
  • Maxim Integrated - MAX2175 Remote Tuner Solution
  • Jungo Connectivity Ltd. - CoDriver by Jungo


  • mCube - MC3672 3-axis WLCSP Accelerometer
  • Texas Instruments - mmwave
  • Maxim Integrated - hSensor Platform
  • ams - CCS811 Gas Sensor


  • Intersil Corp. - Intersil Digital Multiphase Family
  • Maxwell Technologies - Maxwell Technologies Generator Starting Solutions (GSS)
  • Maxim Integrated - MAX17222 nanoPower boost regulator
  • Sendyne Corp. - Sendyne SIM100


  • Mentor Graphics Corp. - Tessent DefectSim
  • Silexica GmbH - SLX
  • Jungo Connectivity Ltd. - CoDriver by Jungo
  • Coventor - SEMulator3D

Test and Measurement Systems and Boards

  • XJTAG - XJTAG DFT Assistant
  • Siglent Technologies - Siglent SDS1202X-E Oscilloscope
  • Teledyne LeCroy - HDO9000 Oscilloscopes
  • Tektronix - 5 Series MSO

Processors (CPUs, MPUs, MCUs, SoC, FPGAs)

  • Achronix Semiconductor Corp. - Speedcore
  • Cypress Semiconductor Corp. - PSoC® 6
  • MediaTek - Helio X30
  • Lattice Semiconductor - iCE40 UltraPlus


  • Marvell Technology Group - Marvell 88NV1160 DRAM-less SSD controller
  • Cypress Semiconductor Corp. - CCG3 Native HDMI over Type-C Alternate Mode
  • Marvell Technology Group - Marvell 98PX1012 Prestera PX Passive Intelligent Port Extender (PIPE)
  • Diodes Incorporated - PI3USB31532 USB 3.1 Gen 2/Display Port 1.4 Crossbar Switch for Type-C

Development Kits

  • Nordic Semiconductor - Nordic Thingy:52
  • Lattice Semiconductor - Embedded Vision Development Kit
  • Cypress Semiconductor Corp. - PSoC® 6 BLE Pioneer Kit CY8CKIT-062-BLE
  • Renesas Electronics America Inc. - Renesas Synergy S5D9 IoT Fast Prototyping Kit

Passive, Interconnects and Electromechanical

  • Vishay Intertechnology - T59 Polymer Surface-Mount Chip Capacitors
  • Harwin Inc. - Gecko SL
  • EAO Corp. - Series 14 Indicator Compact


  • Qorvo - RF Fusion™
  • Cypress Semiconductor Corp. - 802.11AC
  • Maja Systems - Maja Systems 60Ghz CMOS Single Chip Transceiver
  • Analog Devices - LTC5596

LEDs and Lighting

  • OSRAM Opto Semiconductors - IR OSLON - SFH 4735
  • Power Integrations - LYTSwitch
  • RRD - Lighted Greetings from RRD
  • OSRAM Opto Semiconductor - OSCONIQ P 3737 3W

The ACE Awards will also honor Ajay Bhatt, Former Chief Architect at Intel, with the Lifetime Achievement Award; Jacob Beningo, Embedded Software Consultant, with the Jim Williams Innovation and Education Award; and Daniel Beeker, Principal Engineer, NXP Semiconductor, with the ESC Speaker of the Year Award.

Congratulations and good luck to all of the finalists!


ESC Silicon Valley is a Few Short weeks Away!
The Embedded Systems Conference (ESC) is back in Silicon Valley and it’s bigger than ever. Over three days, Dec. 5-7, 2017, receive in-depth education geared to drive a year’s worth of work. Uncover software design innovation, hardware breakthroughs, fresh IoT trends, product demos, and more that will change how you spend time and money on your next project.  Click here to register today!

Comments (0)

Please log in or to post comments.
  • Oldest First
  • Newest First
Loading Comments...